product of the week: wen by chaz dean healthy hair kit review

Wen Healthy Hair Kit. Photo copyright Hush Beauty 2012.

Wen Healthy Hair Kit. Photo copyright Hush Beauty 2012.

I have been meaning to buy the Wen by Chaz Dean Healthy Hair Kit for a few months now — I’ve heard rave reviews online, from friends and even from my own hair stylist. I finally got it, and I must say, this product has dramatically changed my hair for the better.

I just ran out of my first Wen kit (it comes with a 30-day supply and really lasts about a month), so while I wait for my new shipment, I have been using a regular sulfate-free “cleansing conditioner” I found at CVS, Agadir Sulfate-Free Argan Oil Daily Moisturizing Conditioner ($15.74, CVS). I will never go back to a regular shampoo & conditioner routine.

I bought my first Wen kit from Sephora, the Healthy Hair Kit ($39.50, Sephora.com), which I am reviewing in this post (after the jump). I ordered my second kit, the Deluxe Replenishing Kit ($34.95, Wen Haircare), from Wen’s website, which is a cheaper more-bang-for-your-buck option, and I am currently waiting for it to be delivered. 

Read my review of the Wen Healthy Hair Kit and about all the products in the kit after the jump. 

The Wen Healthy Hair Kit from Sephora includes:

  • 12 oz. Sweet Almond Mint Cleansing Conditioner – A five-in-one conditioning cleanser that replaces shampoo, conditioner, deep conditioner, detangler and leave-in conditioner and includes herbal extracts like aloe leaf juice and sweet almond oil that help hair retain moisture and protect it from damage. It is formulated without sulfates and other chemicals found in regular shampoos that tend to strip the hair. It has been clinically proven to reduce frizz by up to 50%, increase hair strength by up to 70% after one use, increase hair manageability by up to 70% after one use and give hair up to 95% less breakage after one application. (full size, $32, Sephora)
  • 2 oz Sweet Almond Mint Re Moist Intensive Hair Treatment  A deep-conditioning treatment infused with botanical extracts that condition the hair, leaving it soft and shiny. This nutrient-infused treatment includes hydrating shea butter and hydrolyzed wheat protein to restore damaged hair. (full size, $58, Sephora)
  • 2 oz Sweet Almond Mint Replenishing Treatment Mist This lightweight treatment mist is designed to increase the hair’s volume and body between washes. It works great as a detangler and conditioner. The mist is formulated with argan oil, shea butter and botanical extracts which all give the hair extra nourishment, leaving hair silky and soft. Use this treatment on damp, dry or styled hair. It can be used after washing with the cleansing conditioner or in-between washes for a quick pick-me-up. (full size, $33, Sephora)

Like I said, I had been meaning to try this product for awhile (months now). I was so happy I finally did. My hair is extremely damaged from heat & over-processing and it was only recently that I realized I need to be using sulfate-free shampoos. I came to realize that my shampoo routine was half the reason why my hair was constantly dry and damaged-looking. No amount of expensive serums and other hair products could reverse the damage. This cleansing conditioner did just that and then some.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Cleaning Conditioner. Photo courtesy of Sephora.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Cleaning Conditioner. Photo courtesy of Sephora.

I now see what all the fuss is about with sulfate-free shampoo, and, let me just make clear, Wen Cleansing Conditioner is NOT a shampoo. It’s a sulfate-free cleansing conditioner. A five-in-one product that can even be used as a leave-in conditioner. Either way, people with dry, damaged hair like me should be using sulfate-free products in their washing routine. Wen can be used as often as you’d like; I was using it every day at first to let my hair repair itself.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Re Moist Intensive Hair Treatment. Photo courtesy of Sephora.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Re Moist Intensive Hair Treatment. Photo courtesy of Sephora.

The Intensive Hair Treatment was just that – like a deep conditioner but even better. It is suggested to leave the treatment in for 25-30 minutes, so use it whenever you have the extra time. It’s packed with nutrients like shea butter and hydrolyzed wheat protein that restores damaged hair, and it gave my hair more body and shine.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Replenishing Treatment Mist. Photo courtesy of Sephora.

Wen Sweet Almond Mint Replenishing Treatment Mist. Photo courtesy of Sephora.

My favorite product in the kit, however, was the Replenishing Treatment Mist. It seems like a miracle product. It works great using the mist on wet hair after washing with the cleansing conditioner, but I also loved using it on my dry hair. A few sprays on dry hair and it seems to almost instantly transform your locks, especially in-between washes, as it gives your hair extra nourishment with more volume, bounce and shine. 

You can buy the Wen Healthy Hair Kit, made up of all three products reviewed above, from Sephora’s website for $39.50. I don’t think they sell the kit in Sephora stores. For the best deal, go to Wen’s website where you have the choice between two kits: the Basic Kit which includes Cleansing Conditioner, Styling Creme and Re Moist Intensive Hair Treatment for $29.95; or the Deluxe Replenishing Kit which includes everything the Basic Kit has to offer, plus Wen Replenishing Treatment Mist, Wen Texture Balm and a wide-tooth comb for $34.95. All kits are meant to be a 30-day supply and they last thirty days, if not more (depending on how often you wash your hair). 

2 responses to “product of the week: wen by chaz dean healthy hair kit review

  1. Hey Amanda! I randomly stumbled upon your review when I was searching for reviews on the wen system. You seem pretty knowledgeable and I thought you should know. Looking forward to more content!

    • Hi Claire!
      You are my first commenter! And that feels awesome 🙂 I was wondering — how did you come across the blog? As you can tell, we are in the very early stages of HUSH Beauty and are still putting the puzzle pieces together when it comes to search engine optimization, RSS feeds, etc. Thank you so much for visiting, I have a bunch of posts in the draft process right now so I hope to post a bunch tonight — we need the content up more than anything. Thanks again & thanks for visiting !!


      xoxo
      Amanda

Leave a Reply

